I say Boo. You say Moo

It’s Dark in Here

 

I am sitting in bed with just the light from my computer typing and the soft whir from the fan. I want to say things, lots of things. So many things in fact that I often look at a blank page and don’t type anything. Or, I start typing and digress in so many directions this sits with the other dozens of drafts I have collected. And so it begins…

I think we are a world full of cattle. Even the cattle don’t know they are cattle. Sometimes they throw on some hipster jeans or play the bongos. Maybe they

Postpartum Psychosis, Natachia Barlow Ramsey, Maternal Mental Health

even wear one of those silly beard hats or only buy second hand clothes form the ’70’s. Perhaps they have a “strong” opinion on something, or a few something. But they still easily fit onto the bell shaped curve of society and you would likely never see them at a protest or sit-in. Being the sole person to swing left while a thousand others swung right. Cattle^^^^

People consumed with being right or only having friends that think the same way they do. No debating an opinion anymore or bothering to agree to disagree while remaining friends. Not in an age of “un-friending” someone with the click of a button. I find that entire concept absurd. Cattle^^^^
I have met in my life and still respect to this day less than a dozen people. Some of them I am not even that fond of. There’s at least one I don’t even like. But they were honest and had integrity. I like a person with character and who has a backbone. Someone who isn’t afraid to form their own opinions or even stand alone. Fight for what they believe in. I value that in a person and find it commendable.
When did we become so afraid of what someone else would think and turn into cattle? I believe social media has a lot to do with it. Instant everything all the time. Everyone is so worried about people they don’t even know liking them.
People should be worried about raising independent thinkers instead of teaching them how to say Moo.
Postpartum Psychosis, Natachia Barlow Ramsey, Maternal Mental Health
Leave a Reply

